Book #44: Eragon – Inheritance Cycle

Eragon – Christopher Paolini
2007 – Laurel Leaf – ISBN: 0440240735

For the last few years, I have found myself embroiled in the goings on of Alagaesia.  This fictional land harbors elves, kings, farm boys, story tellers, and most importantly, dragons.  Alagaesia exists as a mystical place of magic and

This book tells the first chapter in the cycle.  Saphira’s egg magically appears in front of Eragon while he hunts in the forest around his home.  This events sets in motion an entire series of events that leads to Eragon fighting for his life.   He learns and grows and ultimate finds out the nature of the legacy left him by other Dragon Riders.

This book contains a coming of age story that allows the reader to see the development of a young man.  I find myself amazed at how much more I want from this book.  Often, the back-story just sits there as a unimportant and uninteresting portion of the story.  It bores you and just adds pages to the book.  However, Paolini does a masterful job of keeping the prose moving forward and the reader on the edge of his seat.

What is even more amazing is the fact that this book has another coming of age story attached to it.  Paolini was 15 when he finished the first draft of this amazing book.  He has grown up with Eragon.  I wait with baited breath to see what the last book in the series, “Inheritance,” has in store for us.  The book releases 11-8-2011.

You gotta check out this series!  You can start here with this trailer:

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *